Home > Research Papers, Publications & Events > Research Seminars 2010

RESEARCH SEMINARS 2010

Dec. 22 (Wed) Daisuke Miyakawa (Associate Senior Economist, Development Bank of Japan)
"A Measurement for Bank Productivity and the Performance of Client Firms: Evidence from Firm- and Bank-Level Data in Japan"
Dec. 15 (Wed) Steen Thomsen (Professor, Copenhagen Business School)
"The Governance of Industrial Foundations"
Dec. 6 (Mon) Emir Hrnjic (Assistant Professor, National University of Singapore)
"Market-wide Sentiment, Firm-level Sentiment and the IPO Pricing Process"
Dec. 2 (Thu) Takayoshi Nakaoka (Graduate School of Business Administration, Kobe University)
"How Can We Survive? Soft Information Utilization in Japanese Competitive Local Credit Markets"
Nov. 25 (Thu) Mariko Tanaka (Research Associate, University of Tokyo)
"Endogenous Fluctuations in a Three-Period OLG Model with Credit Market Imperfection"
Nov. 11 (Thu) Alexander Ljungqvist (Professor, New York University)
"Does the Stock Market Harm Investment Incentives?"
Nov. 4 (Thu) Naoshi Doi (Graduate School of Economics, University of Tokyo)
"Does Japanese Liquor Taste Different?: Empirical Analysis on the National Treatment under the WTO"
Oct. 21 (Thu) Takashi Kano (Assistant Professor, University of Tokyo)
"Exaggerated Death of Distance: Revisiting Distance Effects on Regional Price Dispersions"
Oct. 15 (Fri) Shin-ichi Fukuda (Professor, University of Tokyo)
"Market-specific and Currency-specific Risk during the Global Financial Crisis: Evidence from the Interbank Markets in Tokyo and London"
Oct. 14 (Thu) Daisuke Miyakawa (Associate Senior Economist, Development Bank of Japan) and Soko Nishizawa (Economist, Development Bank of Japan)
"Umbrellas for a Rainy Day? Evaluating the Stabilization/Counter-Cyclical Characteristics of Public Financial Institutions"
Aug. 26 (Thu) Daisuke Miyakawa (Associate Senior Economist, Development Bank of Japan)
"Revisiting Bank Productivity: Determinants and Consequences"
Aug. 19 (Thu) Mari Sakudo (Associate Senior Economist, Development Bank of Japan)
"Nonparametric Multiplicative Bias Correction for Kernel-Type Density Estimation Using Positive Data"
Aug. 12 (Thu) Masanori Kashiwagi (Fellow, European University Institute)
"Self-fulfilling Beliefs and Bounded Bubbles in the U. S. Housing Market"
Aug. 5 (Thu) Kei Kawakami (Lecturer, University of Melbourne)
"The Formation of Exchanges: Risk Sharing and Information Aggregation"
Aug. 2 (Mon) Charles Yuji Horioka (Professor, Osaka University)
"An International Comparison of Altruism, Bequest Motives, and Parent-Child Relations"
Jul. 29 (Thu) Atsushi Kawakami (Gakushuin University)
"Product Switching and Firm Performance in Japan"
Jul. 22 (Thu) Ulrike Schaede (Professor, University of California, San Diego)
"Japan's Most Profitable Companies: Strategic Positioning through 'Choose and Focus'"
Jul. 22 (Thu) Shuji Watanabe (Chief Economist, Development Bank of Japan) and Daisuke Miyakawa (Associate Senior Economist, Development Bank of Japan)
"Measuring the Effect of Liquidity on Corporate Bond Spread"
Jul. 16 (Fri) Naoki Shinada (Senior Vice President, Development Bank of Japan)
"Stock Ownership and Corporate Performance in Japan: Corporate Governance by Institutional Investors"
Jul. 5 (Mon) Masato Nishiwaki (Assistant Professor, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies)
"Horizontal Mergers and Divestment Dynamics in a Sunset Industry"
Jun. 30 (Wed) Masayuki Otaki (Professor, University of Tokyo)
"A Pure Theory of Aggregate Price Determination"
Jun. 25 (Fri) Yosuke Takeda (Professor, Sophia University)
"Aggregate Effects of the Composition of Government Spending in Multi-Sector Dynamic General Equilibrium Models: Spatial VAR Estimates"
Jun. 23 (Wed) Robert Dekle (Professor, University of Southern California)
"A Re-Examination of the Exchange Rate Disconnect Puzzle: Evidence from Japanese Firm Level Data"
"The Japan-U.S. Exchange Rate, Productivity, and the Competitiveness of Japanese Industries"
Jun. 17 (Thu) Daisuke Miyakawa (Associate Senior Economist, Development Bank of Japan)
"How Does the Stability of Loan Relation Depend on its Duration? Evidence from Firm- and Bank-Level Data"
Jun. 10 (Thu) Shinya Tanaka (Graduate School of Economics, Hitotsubashi University)
"Reducing the Size Distortion of the KPSS Test"
Jun. 3 (Thu) Jungwook Shim (Researcher, Center for Economic Institutions, Hitotsubashi University)
"Does Ownership Matter in Mergers? A Comparative Study of the Causes and Consequences of Mergers by Family and Non-family Firms"
May 24 (Mon) Carsten Bienz (Associate Professor, Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration)
"The Defeasance of Control Rights"
May 21 (Fri) Hiroyuki Seshimo (Professor, Senshu University)
"Setup Investment Properties and the Priority Rule: The Absolute Priority Rule as a Commitment Device"
May 20 (Thu) Mariko Tanaka (Research Associate, University of Tokyo)
"The International Circulation of the Third Currency"
May 13 (Thu) Mari Sakudo (Economist, Development Bank of Japan)
"Bagging and Forecasting in Nonlinear Dynamic Models"
Apr. 22 (Thu) Naoki Shinada (Vice President, Development Bank of Japan)
"Stock Ownership and Corporate Performance in Japan: Corporate Governance by Institutional Investors"
Apr. 16 (Fri) Augusto Ruperez Micola (Assistant Professor, Universitat Pompeu Fabra)
"The Emergence of Biofuels and the Co-movement between Crude Oil and Agricultural Prices"
Apr. 8 (Thu) Junko Koeda (Assistant Professor, University of Tokyo)
"The Role of Uncertainty in the Term Structure of Interest Rates: A Macro-Finance Perspective"